Northpass alternative

The customer academy that reports to your CRM.

Peerfold is a customer-education platform built HubSpot-first: academy, community and credentials on one member record, with every enrollment, lesson, quiz, certificate and credit landing on the contact and company records your team already works from. Published prices, a self-serve trial, and no sales call to see the product.

  • Deep HubSpot sync on every plan
  • Your existing SCORM training runs here
  • Published prices, including enterprise
  • 14-day free trial, no sales call

What a quoted platform leaves unanswered

  • The number arrives after the demo.

    Pricing is quote-based and the motion is demo-led, with no public free trial.

  • Every new course is a new contact property.

    Course progress arrives as custom contact properties, one per course, so reporting on twenty courses means twenty new properties.

  • You find out which SCORM versions run once you are inside.

    Public documentation does not state which SCORM versions are supported.

Why teams look beyond Northpass

The product changed hands twice, then gained a sibling.

Two acquisitions in under two years moved Northpass inside a larger customer-success suite and put a second customer-education platform beside it under the same owner. The public record, in the order it happened:

  1. 1 · July 2023

    Gainsight acquires Northpass

    Gainsight announced a definitive agreement to acquire Northpass, then serving roughly 350 companies, and folded it into its customer-success platform.

  2. 2 · After the deal

    Northpass becomes Gainsight Customer Education

    The product was rebranded. The northpass.com material and support articles are still the public documentation for much of it.

  3. 3 · April 2025

    Gainsight acquires Skilljar

    Gainsight bought a second customer-education LMS, and said it would combine that platform with the functionality it acquired from Northpass.

  4. 4 · Today

    Two education products under one roof

    Third-party catalogs now list Gainsight Customer Education as part of Skilljar. Which platform a given account lands on is a question for Gainsight.

What changes when you switch

Three differences a HubSpot team meets in week one.

Each one names what the public record says about Northpass, from the sourced cell in the table below, and what Peerfold does in the same place.

What the public record says about Northpass

What Peerfold does in the same place

No public price list

Every price is on the pricing page, enterprise included

Course progress arrives as custom contact properties, one per course and one per path

Each enrollment becomes a course record associated with the contact

Public documentation does not describe AI course generation

Peerfold AI drafts a full course from up to 64,000 characters of your own source material, and nothing publishes without your approval

Public documentation does not state which SCORM versions are supported

SCORM 1.2 and 2004, plus xAPI and cmi5, named on the page and included in the plan

SCORM, in versions you can check before you buy.

Peerfold names them: SCORM 1.2 and 2004, plus xAPI and cmi5, in a first-party runtime with no third-party player and no per-learner fee. Multi-SCO packages are detected as multi-lesson courses, and a completion inspector shows what each package reported for each learner.

The layer that starts after the certificate.

Serial numbers and a public verification page, Open Badges 2.0 from your own portal, LinkedIn Add to Profile, your own CEU credit types with fractional credits and an append-only ledger, training deadlines with a reminder rail and overdue rollups your CRM reads, recertification windows that reopen the exam, and ACCME PARS filing on enterprise plans.

An academy an assistant can operate.

Peerfold’s MCP server puts 304 tools over the same service layer the admin screens call, so a connected assistant drafts a course from your own material, enrolls a cohort and reports on progress. Publish is its own explicit tool, and every write is audit-logged.

The comparison

The seven things a customer-education buyer asks.

Sourced from each company’s own documentation and public materials.

Based on publicly available information, as of July 2026.

TL;DR

Where Peerfold wins

  • Published prices, enterprise included. $209, $816 and $1,800 a month, with a feature matrix on the same page. Northpass is quoted after a demo.
  • Education shows up in your CRM as records. Every enrollment becomes a course record on the contact; twenty courses stay twenty records, never twenty properties.
  • Your existing training moves with you. SCORM 1.2 & 2004, plus xAPI and cmi5, in a first-party player with the versions named up front.
  • Credentials that leave the platform. Verifiable certificates, Open Badges, CEU credit, recertification and ACCME PARS filing.
  • You keep every dollar of course revenue. Checkout on your own Stripe, 0% platform fee at every tier.
  • Your AI assistant can run the academy. An MCP server with 304 tools drafts from your material, with publish always a human decision.

Details and sources in the table below.

Based on publicly available information, as of July 2026.
CategoryPeerfoldNorthpass (Gainsight Customer Education)
Course authoringIncluded

A three-pane visual editor with autosave, undo and click-to-edit text on the canvas. 22 block types, including flashcards, sorting exercises, process walkthroughs and gated continue buttons. Auto-graded quizzes with pass thresholds you set, timed exams, open-ended questions with a grading queue. Peerfold AI drafts a full course from up to 64,000 characters of your own source material, and nothing publishes without your approval. Any lesson can be narrated from its own text.

Included

A course and syllabus builder with quizzes, assignments, certificates and learning paths, plus a course marketplace. Public documentation does not describe AI course generation.

HubSpot integration depthIncluded

Two-way and native, on every plan. Each enrollment becomes a course record associated with the contact, carrying status, percent complete, exam scores, certificates, membership tier and status, earned credits and training deadlines. Completions and milestones post timeline notes. HubSpot lists enroll and revoke automatically. Membership and program purchases can open deals in a pipeline you choose, and lead-gen submissions land with attribution.

Limited

A HubSpot marketplace app. Course progress and learning-path progress arrive as custom contact properties, one property per course and one per path, matched to the contact by email address. Course completions, quiz completions and assignment submissions post as contact timeline events. Progress recorded before the app is installed is not backfilled.

SCORMIncluded

SCORM 1.2 and 2004, plus xAPI and cmi5, in a first-party runtime: no third-party player, no per-learner fees. Multi-SCO packages are detected and become multi-lesson courses, a completion inspector shows exactly what each package reported for each learner, and a single-package course can launch straight into the content.

Included

SCORM packages upload through the media library and play as a SCORM activity in the syllabus; SCORM analytics appear in reporting. Public documentation does not state which SCORM versions are supported.

Learner portal & brandingIncluded

A white-label portal on your own domain with managed SSL. Your logo, your fonts, and brand colors with automatic accessibility contrast. Built-in portal languages plus a custom one you define in any language, with every learner picking their own. Passwordless email codes, recognition of contacts HubSpot already knows, and resume positions that survive a change of device. Every certificate earned there travels: one click adds it to the learner’s LinkedIn profile.

Included

A branded academy: logo, colors and images, prebuilt themes, and a custom domain. Deeper customization through HTML, CSS and a Liquid template engine.

CommerceIncluded

Selling runs through your own Stripe account, and we take no platform transaction fee. Hosted checkout, guest purchase with emailed claim links, an embeddable cart drawer with abandoned-cart recovery, memberships and tiers with free trials, promo codes, proration and a self-serve billing portal, and organization seat pools you sell or grant.

Not publicly documented

Not publicly documented

Analytics & CRM reportingIncluded

A real-time dashboard for enrollments, completion rate, exam pass rate and active learners, per-learner records, and CSV export everywhere. The reporting that compounds happens in the CRM: progress, credits and deadlines are HubSpot properties, so the lists, reports and workflows your team already maintains read training data directly. The same signals mirror to Day.ai.

Included

Analytics covering course progress, content engagement, assessments, SCORM and certificates, in real time, filterable by group, course and date range, exportable to CSV. CRM-side reporting rides the per-course contact properties and timeline events the HubSpot app writes.

Pricing transparencyIncluded

Every price is on the pricing page: $209, $816 and $1,800 a month, enterprise included. Deep HubSpot sync is included at every tier, and the full feature-by-feature comparison is on the same page. Start on a 14-day free trial without talking to anyone.

Not available

No public price list. Pricing is quote-based and the motion is demo-led, with no public free trial. Third-party research puts dedicated customer-education platforms in the tens of thousands of dollars a year; treat any specific figure as directional.

Claims about Northpass come from Gainsight and Northpass material, the HubSpot app marketplace and third-party research, checked July 2026. If something is out of date, tell us and we will fix it. Northpass, Gainsight and Skilljar are trademarks of Gainsight, Inc. Peerfold is an Impulse Creative product and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Gainsight.

Where the difference shows

One contact record, every course they have taken.

Course records, never one property per course. Every enrollment becomes a record associated with the contact, carrying status, percent complete, exam scores, certificates, earned credits and any deadline.

Your lists already know how to read it. HubSpot lists enroll and revoke automatically, membership purchases can open deals in a pipeline you choose, and completions post timeline notes where your team already looks.

Day.ai too. The same learning signals mirror onto Day.ai people and organizations, for teams who run that instead.

Switching

We move it with you.

Content, people and history carry. Courses arrive as editable courses, learners as members keyed by email, and transcripts as adopted progress, so a completed course reads as completed and nobody retakes anything. Issued certificates keep their original who, what and when.

The theme gets rebuilt. Your academy is rebuilt in our portal, on your domain, with your brand. SCORM is the easy case: anything authored as SCORM imports through the pipeline untouched.

A person runs it with you. We do the extraction and mapping, you review a migration report naming every object and why, and nothing publishes until you say so.

Beyond the table

An assistant can build the academy.

Peerfold ships an MCP server, so Claude, ChatGPT or any assistant your team already uses can work the platform directly, through the same service layer the admin screens call. The guardrails stay on the server, where they cannot be argued with.

  • 298 MCP tools across authoring, enrollment, commerce, community and reporting
  • Point Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor at a documentation folder and get a course back
  • Publishing is always an explicit, human-approved step
  • Every change an assistant makes is audit-logged under the key that made it
  • An OpenAPI 3.1 REST API underneath, with a typed client and generated validation
  • A 32-event webhook catalog, HMAC-signed, with delivery management and replay in the app
  • Sandbox workspaces with test keys, so an integration is built where it cannot hurt
  • Fully headless: run the whole product inside your own React app or HubSpot site

This section describes what Peerfold includes. It makes no claim about what Northpass lacks; the sourced comparison is in the table above.

Pricing

Published, including the enterprise tier.

The same three tiers the pricing page shows. Comparable HubSpot-native sync elsewhere starts behind a tier gate or lives inside quoted contracts that begin with a call. We publish ours, enterprise included.

What Northpass costs

  • No public price list; pricing is quote-based and the motion is demo-led
  • Third-party research puts dedicated customer-education platforms in the tens of thousands of dollars a year
  • No public free trial

What Peerfold costs

  • Published tiers: $209, $816 and $1,800 a month, with both billing intervals on one page
  • Deep HubSpot sync included on every plan, with no tier gate
  • 0% platform transaction fee at every tier, on your own Stripe account
  • A 14-day free trial with every feature on, no card and no call
See every plan, feature by feature

Questions

Switching questions, answered.

Is Peerfold a drop-in replacement for Northpass?

For the work a customer academy does, yes: courses and lessons, learning paths, quizzes and exams, certificates, a branded portal on your own domain, SCORM, and reporting. Your theme gets rebuilt in our portal with your brand, and the CRM side is deeper here, which usually means retiring per-course contact properties in favor of course records your existing lists and workflows can filter on.

What happens to our courses, learners and completion history?

Content, people and history carry. Courses and lessons arrive as editable courses, learners arrive as members keyed by email, and enrollments and transcripts arrive as adopted progress, so a learner who finished a course in Northpass reads as finished here and is never asked to retake it. Learning paths become programs. Issued certificates arrive as records with the original who, what and when. We run the migration with you, you review a report naming every object, and nothing publishes until you approve it.

Northpass already integrates with HubSpot. What is different here?

Shape and depth. Their app writes course progress as custom contact properties, one per course and one per path, and posts completion events to the contact timeline. Ours writes a course record associated with the contact for every enrollment, carrying status, percent complete, exam scores, certificates, membership tier, earned credits and deadlines, plus timeline notes on milestones. HubSpot lists drive enrollment and revocation in both directions. The practical difference is that reporting on twenty courses does not mean twenty new contact properties.

Will the SCORM library we built in Northpass still work?

Yes. Any course you authored as SCORM imports through our pipeline as it is, and plays in a first-party runtime that supports SCORM 1.2 and 2004, plus xAPI and cmi5, with no per-learner fees and no third-party player. Multi-SCO packages are detected and become multi-lesson courses, and a completion inspector shows admins exactly what each package reported for each learner.

How does the pricing compare?

We publish our monthly prices, enterprise included, along with the annual rail and a feature-by-feature matrix, and deep HubSpot sync is in every one of them. Northpass and Skilljar publish no price list; both are quoted, and the motion starts with a demo. A like-for-like number is impossible to print in good faith, so we print ours and let you compare it to whatever you are quoted.

Can we keep the academy inside our own HubSpot website?

Yes, with the companion HubSpot CMS theme. It shares login with the platform, embeds the SCORM player, and sends progress back to the CRM, so the learner never leaves your site and the records still land where your team reads them. The hosted portal on your own subdomain and a fully headless build on our API are the other two ways to run it.

This comparison is dated. What if it is wrong?

The Northpass column was checked in July 2026 against public material. Gainsight has moved this product twice since 2023 and will keep changing it. If a cell is out of date or wrong, write to us and we will fix it.

See it against your own CRM.

Fourteen days, self-serve, no call. Bring one course and a HubSpot sandbox, and you will know by day two.